Log in

No account? Create an account
I know it's wonky and I don't care [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]

[ website | My Website ]
[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

[Links:| Randomness Guide to London | Open Guide to Cambridge | Snake Soup | KakeFlickr ]

Anyone here an expert on gluten-free diets? [Jul. 6th, 2007|11:46 am]

OK, I know the answer to the specific question in the subject line is "yes"; what I'm looking for is someone who (a) can read a recipe and tell me whether or not it's gluten-free (as written), and (b) is willing to spend a little time going through some or all of the recipes on my cookery site and del.icio.us/kake_food, and give me a list of the ones that are gluten-free, so I can flag them as such.

I've been meaning to do this for ages, and a livejournal friend has just asked for gluten-free recipe suggestions, so I figure now is a good time to do it. Can any of you help me out? I'm happy to do a similarly-sized favour in return.

(The reason I'm asking for help rather than sitting down with Google and doing it on my own is that because I don't have "this is gluten-free, this isn't" internalised in the same way I have "this is vegan, this isn't", it would take a very very long time, whereas someone with the same level of familiarity with gluten-free diets as I have with vegan ones could do it much more quickly.)

[User Picture]From: marnameow
2007-07-06 10:53 am (UTC)
I can do it, if you like?
(Reply) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: nou
2007-07-06 11:14 am (UTC)
Yes please! Do you want to start with the cookery site, and let me know when you get fed up, and if anyone else volunteers I'll start them on the del.icio.us?

You can see a list of all the recipes here.

Thank you!

(BTW, I still have yr keys from the catsitting.)
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: marnameow
2007-07-06 11:41 am (UTC)
OK. Would two lists make sense - one of gluten free, and one of gluten free if gf soy sause, or whatever, is used?
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: nou
2007-07-06 12:03 pm (UTC)
Yep, good idea!
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: thekumquat
2007-07-06 11:15 am (UTC)
Thing with gluten-free is that you have to look at the ingredients of the ingredients, as it were. Like where you have 'stock powder', many of those contain gluten but some would be OK, so you'd need a warning on that.

A quick look suggests most of your non-bread recipes will be OK - sorry don't have time for more. Very useful website that - my vegan repertoire is not that wide.
(Reply) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: nou
2007-07-06 11:19 am (UTC)
Ah-ha, thanks, noted - this is the sort of thing I don't know, so very useful to have it pointed out.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: thekumquat
2007-07-06 12:13 pm (UTC)
Conflux's sister is coeliac, so I've received many a monologue on the subject...
Basically fresh unprocessed ingredients good (except wheat, oats, and a few other grains). Use potatoes, rice, or rice noodles as your starchy accompaniments instead of bread or pasta.

Processed stuff - a huge minefield that they publish a monthly book of listings for. Gluten-containing additives get into practically everything, under names like 'modified starch', 'thickener', Exxx, baking powder, xxx concentrate, modified-anything, etc.
If you don't have the book, which has to say things like "The 454g jar of XXX brand YYY flavour pasta sauce is OK but the 250g jars aren't", then you need to avoid all of these things. I would guess the offenders in your recipes might be spice mixes, baking powder, maybe coconut milk, cooking chocolate...
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: dj_alexander
2007-07-06 12:53 pm (UTC)
Just going to point out that you can have bread or pasta as long as they are gluten-free bread or pasta (which you can get in large supermarkets or on prescription).
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: crazyscot
2007-07-06 09:18 pm (UTC)
Gluten-free bread is horrible; tried it once and immediately my heart went out to all coeliacs and other wheat intolerants everywhere. (Haven't tried GF pasta.)
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
From: (Anonymous)
2007-07-06 02:56 pm (UTC)

Celiac-safe ingredients

There are some rather comprehensive lists of what ingredients are safe or not out on the web already, but I know what you mean by how difficult that could be to do. I read sites like http://gluten-free-blog.blogspot.com/ for some of that information, as well as things like this on Celiac.com: http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodid=183

It takes a lot of time to research, but if you're going to live gluten-free, this pretty much needs to become habit.
(Reply) (Thread)